Constructing smooth pavements is the topic of our Meganar this Friday, March 18. We will not only be covering the basics of constructing smooth pavements, we will also take a look at the past, present, and future of pavement smoothness measurement technology. This is an important training event for anyone who's involved in constructing smooth pavements, as well as for those who want insights into current and emerging technology designed to improve pavement smoothness, as well as other pavement QC/QA measures.

To register online, please click here.

For registration assistance, please contact Debbie Becker at 847.423.8710. Government employees must call or email Debbie Becker to receive the special rate. For other questions about the education & training program, or for questions about web access and system requirements, please contact Bill Davenport at 847.423.8703.

Date & Time
Friday, March 18
Start time: Noon (Eastern) | 11:00 a.m. (Central) | 9:00 a.m. (Pacific)
End time: Approximately 3:00 p.m. (Eastern) | 2:00 p.m. (Central) | Noon (Pacific)
(This is a 3-hour module. We encourage participants to allow extra time for questions and administrative details. Please note you will receive only one link to this event.)

Who Should Participate?
Construction managers, superintendents, foremen, engineers, QA/QC personnel, testing/inspection personnel, equipment managers, and others who are responsible for pavement quality and quality pavement construction.

Course Instructor
Michael E. Ayers, Ph.D., Education & Training Consultant to ACPA

Guest Speakers (Technology Round-up)
Kevin Klein and Bob Leonard, GOMACO -- Smoothness measurement technology.
Jon Klatt, Ames Engineering -- Lightweight profiler technology.

Course Descriptions:
Our two-part Meganar covers historical approaches and methods, as well as current QA/QC equipment and methods.

  • Meganar 2a. An overview of past and present QA/QC technologies -- This 90-minute module explores how smoothness and other quality metrics began, as well as what is currently being used today.
  • Meganar 2b. Technology round-up -- This 90-minute session provides an overview of some of the current and emerging technologies, as well as insights into future trends. The emphasis is on the technologies and the capabilities and advantages of current equipment and QA/QC methods. Leading industry experts will share insights about what contractors should expect to see being used on the grade in the future, as well as for their views on "next generation" QA/QC methods.

PDH Credits: ACPA awards up to 3.0 professional development hours (PDH's) for this course. PDH credits are awarded upon satisfactory completion of a 10-question exam administered after the complete, four-part Meganar.