William D. Palmer, Editor in Chief
William D. Palmer, Editor in Chief

Finally we are there—CC's 50th anniversary. We bring you this issue with great pride and also great humility. Looking back through the years of information CC has published for concrete contractors and the concrete industry makes any single person's contribution seem minor. In the first issue, Bill Avery established the magazine's objective as promoting a “free exchange of ideas, opinions, and experiences.”

To celebrate this milestone, we looked back to that objective and asked people from across the industry to comment on where we've come from and where they see the industry going. Below, we list those who contributed to this special issue. But we took it one step further and looked at everyone who has ever contributed to CC. There will be many people on this list of over 800 you don't know, but also probably many that you do know or wish you had known. There are even funny quirks, like the fact that my name falls next to Bill Panarese's who was editor of CC in the late 1970s, one of only seven editors in the magazine's history.

Let us know what we've missed in this review of the industry's last 50 years and we'll try to work it into a future issue. We have plenty of time—it will be 50 years before we get the chance to do another anniversary issue.

Contributors to CC's 50th Anniversary Issue
Wayne Adaska, director of Public Works, Portland Cement Association
John Albinger, president, T.H. Davidson Readymix
Daniel P. Anderson, former president, The Aberdeen Group
Bill Kimball, managing partner, Group 365 representing Symons
William F. Baker, P.E., S.E., partner, Skidmore, Owings and Merrill
Kenneth B. Bondy, consultant
Peter H. Emmons, CEO, Structural Group
Robert A. Garbini, P.E., president, National Ready Mixed Concrete Association
Bev Garnant, executive director, American Society of Concrete Contractors
Diana Granitto, consultant
Gary Godbersen, president and CEO, Gomaco Corp.
Dennis Hogan, director of national accounts, Propex Concrete Systems
Jerry Holland, senior engineer, Structural Services, Inc.
Ken Hover, professor of structural engineering, Cornell University
Ryan Johnson, Two Rivers Marketing representing Bobcat Co.
Howard Kanare, senior principal, CTLGroup
Joe Lyman, executive director, Insulating Concrete Forms Association
Michael Miller, general product manager, Symons
Michael Miller, the concretist
Pat O'Brien, executive director, Concrete Sawing and Drilling Association
James A. Repman, chairman of the board, Portland Cement Association, and president and CEO, California Portland Cement Co.
Renee Robinson, Nicholson Kovac representing Hilti
Ed Sauter, executive director, Tilt-Up Concrete Association and Concrete Foundations Association
John Schultz, product manager, Leica Geosystems
Surendra Shah, director, Center for Advanced Cement-Based Materials, Northwestern University
David Shepherd, AIA, director of sustainable development, Portland Cement Association
James M. Shilstone, Sr., P.E. chairman, Shilstone and Associates, Inc.
Mike Shydlowski, president and CEO, BASF Admixtures Inc.
Peter C. Tatnall, principal, Performance Concrete Technologies
Gerald F. Voigt, P.E., president and CEO, American Concrete Pavement Association
Bob Weatherton, president, Concrete Pump Store
George D. Yoggy, president, GCS LLC
Alex Zera, president, Zera Construction