The Tilt-Up Concrete Association (TCA) has announced the winners for the 2014 Alphonse Engelman Safety Awards.

The TCA created the Safety Awards program to recognize the contractors in the industry committed to maintaining safe working environments on their job sites. In 2007, this program was renamed “The Alphonse Engelman Safety Awards Program” in honor of past TCA president and champion of tilt-up construction safety, Al Engelman. Engelman helped introduce this industry awards program that now bears his name.

The Alphonse Engelman Safety Awards program was developed to enhance the TCA’s overall mission to improve the industry through recognition and education, while providing a special emphasis on safety. Winners were announced at the TCA Annual Convention in San Jose, Calif. on Sept. 29.

This year’s winners included:

  • Best Tilt-Up Safety Achievement Award: Conewago Enterprises, Inc.; Big-D Construction Corp.; E.E. Reed Construction, L.P.; Precision Concrete Construction Company, Inc.; T.A.S. Commercial Concrete Construction, LLC; and American Concrete Construction, Inc.
  • Most Improved Safety Achievement Award: Chesapeake Contracting Group, Inc.
  • Zero Lost Time Accident Achievement Award: Arch-Con Corporation; AML, INC.; Alston Construction Company, Inc.; Bob Moore Construction, Inc.; E.E. Reed Construction, L.P.; DIVCON Inc.; SiteCast Construction Corp.; American Concrete Construction; and Hakanson Construction, Inc.

“This is such an important program for the TCA,” said Barclay Gebel, chair of the TCA Safety Committee. “These companies have worked very hard to attain this level of safety and they deserve to be celebrated.” TCA managing director Mitch Bloomquist said, "The TCA is very proud to honor this group of companies. Their focus and commitment to safety are exemplary.”