The American Concrete Pavement Association (ACPA) proudly presented the 2010 Hartmann-Hirschman-Egan Award to Pat Nolan, recently retired from Interstate Highway Construction, Inc., Englewood, Colo.

Presenting the award was Peter Deem, Industry Associations Consultant, HOLCIM (US) Inc.., Louisville, Colo. Deem also serves as Chairman of the ACPA Legislative Issues Task Force and is a Past-Chairman (2006) of the ACPA Board of Directors. “It is my great pleasure to present the 2010 Hartmann-Hirschman-Egan Award to Pat Nolan, a person I consider to be a great friend, a superb leader, and a mentor to a great many people. For many years, Pat and I served on the ACPA Board of Directors together, as well as in similar roles with the Colorado-Wyoming ACPA Chapter,” he said.

“During that time, I saw him tackle issues great and small, always focusing on solutions instead of problems. For ACPA national, Pat was a leader of change, managing the Association through a very challenging and sometimes extraordinarily difficult strategic planning process. He managed that change with intelligence, compassion, and humor, and because of his leadership, the Association is better for it. “We also are recognizing Pat for his dedication, leadership, creativity, and faith in guiding the American Concrete Pavement Association, as well as for the integrity that defined his career and will remain his legacy. He has made an indelible and incredible impression on many people throughout the industry and the transportation-construction community. “

Nolan is the 42nd recipient of the Hartmann-Hirschman-Egan Award. The award is one of the most coveted awards presented by the American Concrete Pavement Association. The award recognizes individuals and companies, as well as other organizations, for unparalleled commitment, dedication, participation, and leadership in the concrete pavement community.

First presented in 1968, the award was originally named in honor of Harold W. Hartmann, who served as the Association’s Secretary-Treasurer from 1964 until 1974. In 1987, Robert E. Hirschman’s name was added in recognition of his term as the Association’s Chairman (then President) in 1967, as well as his tenure as Secretary-Treasurer from 1975 to 1987. In 2007, the name of Edward A. Egan was added in recognition of his steadfast leadership and dedication to the Association and the industry it serves. Among the stations he occupied was the ACPA’s chairman in 1986, as well as Secretary-Treasurer—from 1988 to 2007, making him the longest-serving person in that capacity in the Association’s history. These individuals demonstrated leadership and tireless dedication to the concrete pavement industry, which helped shape the ACPA and the industry it serves. The award is presented to individuals or groups that demonstrate the same level of dedication as Hartmann, Hirschman, and Egan.