The Portland Cement Association, Skokie, Ill., recently announced its 2009 Sustainable Leadership Award winners. Six public officials, who represent environmental, economic, and social aspects of sustainable construction, were honored.

The 2009 winners are Wayne Kennedy, director of development and engineering, Coweta County Development and Engineering Department, Newman, Ga.; Dale L. Ludens, engineering supervisor, South Dakota Department of Military and Veterans Affairs, Rapid City, S.D.; James McGraw III, chairman, Fairfield County Transportation Committee, Rion, S.C.; Michael A. Nutter, Mayor, City of Philadelphia; Board of Commissioners of Queen Anne's County, Centreville, Md.; and City of Highland, Calif. Visit for project details and more information on each winner.