Concrete contractors with exemplary safety records for 2014 were recognized on September 24 by the Safety & Risk Management Council of theAmerican Society of Concrete Contractors (ASCC), at the association’s Annual Conference in Dallas, TX.

W. Burr Bennett Awards for Safety Excellence were given to specialty contractor Keystone Structural Concrete, LLC,Houston, TX, and general contractor,Barton Malow, Southfield, MI.  These awards are presented in partnership with CNA, Chicago, to contractors that place the highest priority on safety.  Entries are judged on three years of safety performance indicators, values and trends; a self-assessment checklist of company safety practices; and detailed descriptions of safety plans and culture. 

Additional awards based on the incident rate for 2014 were presented to general and specialty contractors in four categories. 

General contractors receiving the Outstanding Safety Achievement Award for the lowest incident rate were Walbridge, Detroit, MI (over 500,000 work hours); The Korte Construction Co.,Highland, IL(110,000 – 500,000 work hours) and California Engineering Contractors, Inc., Pleasanton, CA (under 110,000 work hours).

Specialty contractors receiving the Outstanding Safety Achievement Award were T.B. Penick & Sons, Inc., San Diego, CA (over 200,000 work hours); Bass Commercial Concrete, Little Rock, AR (68,000 – 200,000 work hours); and Albanelli Cement Contractors, Inc., Livonia, MI (under 68,000 work hours).

54 contractors received awards for zero lost time due to accidents and the same number were recognized for having lowered their incident rate from the previous year.  71 contractors received certificates for achieving an incident rate below the national average.

Three companies were recognized for outstanding fleet safety records: Citadel Contractors, Inc., Apex, NC, 467,483 miles with zero accidents; Lloyd Concrete ServicesForest, VA, 950,000 miles with zero accidents; and Jordan Foster Construction, El Paso, TX, 2,314,000 miles with zero accidents. 

A full list of winners can be viewed here.