The concrete industry earned some well deserve respect for its efforts in promoting sustainability at this week’s ASTM’s semi-annual meeting in San Diego. In a surprise announcement, Karthik Obla, chair of ASTM Subcommittee C 09.49 Pervious Concrete, received an Award of Appreciation from Michael Schmeida, vice chair of ASTM’s Committee E-60 on Sustainability. Schmeida presented the award at the C 09.49 meeting on Monday June 25, 2012.

During his presentation, Schmeida lauded Obla and his sub-committees’ for their cooperative efforts on improving the science that supports measurable sustainability initiatives. C 09.49 has published four new test procedures on pervious concrete in the past three years. These new procedures are now incorporated in E-60’s documents. “Obla’s sub-committee’s work has been vital in our effort to further the evolution of our documents on sustainability,” said Schmeida,

C09.49 on Pervious Concrete is one of ASTM’s largest subcommittees with 122 official members, comprised of producers, contractors, engineers, and researchers. Formed only five years ago, C09.49 has been one of ASTM’s most active sub-committees, developing and publishing four new standards for testing pervious concrete. The fourth and newest test method, ASTM C1754-12 Density and Void Content of Hardened Pervious Concrete was just published last week. It was preceded by: ASTM C1747-11 Determining Potential Resistance to Degradation of Pervious Concrete by Impact and Abrasion; ASTM C1688-12 Density and Void Content of Freshly Mixed Pervious Concrete; and ASTM C1701-09 Infiltration Rate of In-Place Pervious Concrete.