Nine winners have been named in Portland Cement Association's (PCA) 11th Biennial Bridge Awards Competition. The competition, instituted in 1988, recognizes excellence in design and construction of concrete bridges.

This year's winning projects:

  • South Slough Bridge #91, Snohomish County, Washington
  • Agua Hedionda Lagoon Railroad Bridge Replacement, Carlsbad, Calif.
  • Otay River Bridge, San Diego, Calif.
  • Big Cottonwood Canyon Bridge, Salt Lake County, Utah
  • Lee Roy Selmon Crosstown Expressway Expansion, Tampa, Fla.
  • McEwen Drive Interchange at Interstate 65, Franklin, Tenn.
  • Port Columbus International Crossover Taxiway, Columbus, Ohio
  • Forty Foot Road Pedestrian Bridge, Montgomery County, Penn.
  • Maple Avenue Bridge, Redmond, Ore.

The 2008 program attracted 42 entries from Canada and the United States, covering a variety of structure types and construction methods. All structures were completed between June 2006 and March 2008. The winners will be recognized at the American Concrete Institute's Fall Convention in St. Louis, in November.

Winning projects were selected based on creativity, functionality, and economy by a jury of three prominent bridge professionals: Edward Wasserman, civil engineering director, Structures, Tennessee Department of Transportation; Myint Lwin, director, Office of Bridge Technology, FHWA Washington, D.C.; and Barney Martin, Jr, president, Modjeski and Masters Inc.

The next installment of the bridge awards is scheduled for 2010.

Based in Skokie, Ill., the Portland Cement Association represents cement companies in the United States and Canada. It conducts market development, engineering, research, education, and public affairs programs.