Entries are now being accepted for the International Parking Institute's 31st Annual Awards of Excellence Competition recognizing outstanding achievement in parking facility design and architecture.

The complete Awards of Excellence Entry Forms are now available.

Past winners have included notable parking garages in cities, retail complexes, corporate headquarters, airports, commercial buildings, public institutions, universities, and sports complexes, among others. The awards are open to public agencies, jurisdictions, institutions, organizations or corporations that own parking facilities completed or renovated since January 1, 2010.

The top award honors architectural achievement. Other categories honor sustainable parking and transportation design excellence and noteworthy design and implementation of a surface parking lot. The competition offers seven categories:

I. Parking facility with fewer than 800 spaces
II. Parking facility with 800 or more spaces
III. Surface parking lot
IV. Innovation/sustainability in an existing parking operation or program
V. Parking facility rehabilitation or restoration
VI. New parking facility incorporating sustainability
VII. Award of architectural achievement

Entries must be submitted no later than Monday, December 31, 2012. Entry fees, rules, regulations and judging criteria are outlined in the official entry brochure.